yeah spring!

IMG_2940

Honey asked me what I wanted to do for Mother’s Day and the first thing that I thought of was the North Head Trail around Signal Hill.  I haven’t done that hike since the fall – it would be a treacherous place to be with all the snow and ice we had this winter.

IMG_2954

I was prepared with many layers and a hat and mitts, but it was surprisingly warm!  I had my jacket around my waist the entire hike. I know my Ottawa friends are lounging on their decks wearing shorts with drinks in hand – however it has still been pretty cold here.

IMG_2958

I am always in awe when I do this hike! I just can’t stop taking photos and breathing in the salt air.  Although there are a few places on the hike where I need to put away my phone and concentrate so I don’t go careening down the cliff!

IMG_2965

The rich shades of brown are so intense – it is stunning during each season in totally different ways!  You can check out a summer hike I did here and a fall hike I did here to compare.

IMG_2984

Even the neutral colours of the rocks stop me in my tracks to spend a few moments admiring them.

photo-65

The Rockstar came with us – I think he loves this trail too!

IMG_2970

We could even see a couple of icebergs but my iphone camera does not do them justice.

IMG_2988

I love looking over at Fort Amherst.

IMG_2997

I was huffing and puffing by the time I got up all the stairs at the top of Signal Hill!  I have some work to do obviously!  I can’t wait to head back there again! Yeah spring!

IMG_3002

One thought on “yeah spring!

Leave a Reply

