love and chocolate

20140213-160143.jpg

I’ve been meaning to do a post about the Newfoundland Chocolate Company ever since we moved home. Valentine’s Day seems like the perfect time!  I dashed over on my lunch this week and the place was hopping.  I’m guessing I wasn’t the only one thinking about Feb 14!  As I made my way over there, I was thinking about how Valentine’s Day can be controversial – not everyone likes it.  Admittedly it is totally commercial, but really – in the middle of February everyone needs a pick me up.  Going to buy some treats for my family gave me a little spring in my step (the sunshine helped too!).  So as far as I’m concerned, bring on Valentine’s Day!

20140213-160154.jpg

Now back to the Newfoundland Chocolate Company! The window display was very festive.  You can’t really see the very large chocolate fountain running, but it looks rich and delicious!  I wanted to just grab a cup and fill ‘er up.  Note there was a sign warning people about only looking and no fingers (Eewwww! I might think about dipping a digit in, but I would never really do it lol).

20140213-160204.jpg

Check out all the chocolate bark, chocolate flowers and LOVE bars.   I was tempted to buy a LOVE bar for my honey, but they were milk chocolate, and he is partial to dark, so I went to check out some of the other selections.

20140213-160212.jpg

My picture is blurry 😦 but I still wanted to show you anyway.  I LOVE the shirt and tie heart boxes!

20140213-160223.jpg

I forgot to take a picture of the truffle case, but trust me there was something for everyone.  The St. John’s CBC morning radio show is having a contest and they are asking listeners to come up with ideas for a  Wake Up Chocolate for the morning show. I can’t wait to hear what combination wins.  Personally, I think you need coffee, caramel and dark chocolate, but that’s just me!

20140213-160234.jpg

The above sign is on the sidewalk outside the store. Very True.

20140213-160254.jpg

If you are needing a little mid-February pick-me-up, I highly recommend heading down to Duckworth Street and treating your loved ones to some Newfoundland Chocolate!

4 thoughts on “love and chocolate

  1. Coffee, caramel, and dark chocolate totally works for me, too. I loved visiting The Newfoundland Chocolate Company and if I’m fortunate enough to return to St. John’s someday, I’ll stop in again.

Leave a Reply

