dear yoga mat

20130812-083947.jpg

Dear Yoga Mat:  Life hasn’t been the same without you!

I finally went to a Moksha Yoga class here in St. John’s.  I LOVE Moksha Hot Yoga.  Last fall and winter I was getting my butt to Moksha Yoga in Ottawa regularly.  With all the craziness happening in recent months, it has fallen to the wayside and I have missed it.
So I seized the moment last week and drove down to Duckworth Street to try out the St. John’s Moksha Yoga.

There is something so calming about familiarity. It was a relief just walking into the building –  It even smelled the same as the Ottawa studio. As the teacher started the class and walked us through the first few positions, I felt such comfort in doing the same positions I have done many times before.  <insert big happy sigh here>

The only real difference was the humidity.  As soon as I walked into the practice room, the room felt HEAVY with humidity.  And really, I find Ottawa humid too, but this was an entirely different humidity! Once I got started with the class though, I forgot all about it.

My favourite pose is triangle pose. I love when you move from Warrior two to triangle.  Although it is a challenging pose (for me anyway) I love how the transition feels. I love looking up to the ceiling and feeling my arms stretched out in opposite directions and breathing. Things just seem to click somehow.

It always amazes me how my yoga practice is truly a reflection of my life. The last time I did a Moksha class was in Ottawa when DH and I were discussing whether or not we should move to Newfoundland.  The class was the same as it always was, but somehow I just wasn’t feeling it.  I couldn’t get centered.  Couldn’t focus, couldn’t balance, was totally wobbly.  I think it may have been my worst class ever. Three quarters of the way through the class I thought to myself “Where is my balance today?”  and then the light bulb went off and I realized at that point, I wasn’t feeling balance in my life either.

Tonight I felt centered and focused and balanced, well, mostly ;-). A good sign for sure.

Check out my friend VMChick’s blog post about the Moksha class she did with me in Ottawa! http://vmchick.wordpress.com/2013/02/05/moksha-yoga/

One thought on “dear yoga mat

Leave a Reply

