whitehills trail

So hands down, my absolute favourite part of being here in St. John’s is the hiking trails. Well, actually, I guess my TRUE favourite part of being here is being near my family, but definitely the second best part is the hiking lol. My friend took me on a hike I had never done before and let me tell you, I will be going back!! Very soon!20130730-165718.jpg

You start the hike at the base of Quidi Vidi Lake (you have to drive around the lake near those big green storage containers) and from there you can park and hike up the hills. Apparently you can go all the way to Logy Bay – we heard it would take approx 2-4 hours, depending on how fast you hike. I would love to do that soon – but this time we only went to the top of the staircase. (I don’t know how to describe it other than that). We were probably hiking for an hour and a half.

20130730-165730.jpg

You get a bird’s eye view of Quidi Vidi Village (so quaint) and the ocean. There were lots of boats going in and out.

20130730-165827.jpg

It is not always clear where you are going on the path, and it would be easy to veer off the intended trail, if you weren’t totally paying attention. We tried to follow the East Coast Trail signs and any wooden walkways to keep us on track.

20130730-165807.jpg

This is us at the top of the stairs feeling great from that fabulous hike!

20130730-165916.jpg

The view seemed to change at every vantage point. I just kept clicking photos.

20130730-191027.jpg

This is a panoramic photo I took with my iphone. Gorg.

I’m on the top of the wo-orld lookin’, down on cre-a-tion…..

Ear worm?

20130731-140831.jpg

Looking forward to finding more trails. Stay tuned.

One thought on “whitehills trail

Leave a Reply

