friday fare – the cafe at the rooms

The Rooms is located in downtown St. John’s and is the Provincial Archives, Art Gallery and Museum.  I am looking forward to taking the kids there sometime in August to see the current exhibit, but last week I had to settle for a quick visit to The Rooms Cafe to meet a dear friend for lunch. Please see my caveat about my food posts.20130725-173109.jpg

The photo below is of the cafe, but the sun was streaming in through the window.  Not so helpful for my photo – but lovely for lunch! See all those windows?  WHAT A VIEW!  Really, lunch is just secondary to that view.

20130725-173121.jpg

Lucky for us, the food is also fabulous.  I ordered a quinoa salad off the Organic Menu.   It had apple and cranberries and a sesame dressing (I think).  I didn’t make notes of the ingredients, but it was so tasty!

20130725-173128.jpg

My girlfriend ordered the Duck Confit Salad with candied hazelnuts, fennel, red onion, cherry tomato and grapes in a honey vinaigrette. I really wanted to order this too, but I guess two salads would have been a bit much 😉

20130725-173137.jpg

Such a perfect place to have lunch.  Lots of parking and an incredible location.  I detoured after lunch to take a photo to show you the view.  I mean really. REALLY???  How lucky are we to be here. Notice how you can see the reflection of the blue ski and clouds in the floor.  I’m guessing that was not an accident.

20130725-173146.jpg

I’m still awestruck every time I see the ocean. Do you think it will wear off in a few months?

I hope not.

4 thoughts on “friday fare – the cafe at the rooms

    1. Julie thanks so much for the link to your daughter’s post! It gave me goosebumps reading about the song by Jim Payne and Fergus O’Byrne. I look forward to reading more of her posts!

Leave a Reply

