twenty-five years

20130727-063031.jpg

This past weekend I attended my 25th High School Reunion. To be completely honest, I wasn’t really looking forward to going. Most of the friends I hung out with in High School weren’t going. My one friend that was attending, was part of the planning committee and I knew she would be busy organizing, so I was basically going without any peeps and on my own. I was also worried that I wouldn’t recognize people anymore. After all it has been 25 years, and let’s face it, there is less and less room in my brain for the day-to-day maintenance of life, much less remembering names from 25 years ago!

Anyway, I went. And here’s what I have to say now that the weekend is over.

1. I went to school with a LOT of really nice and interesting people.

2. The girls all look younger than the guys.

3. I still find small talk challenging sometimes. I’m working on it.

4. I made some nice connections now that I am home again and would love to see some of the ladies again soon.

5. I wasn’t the only one who couldn’t remember names – the name tags were awesome.

6. I received some lovely comments about The Homing Beacon which made me smile.

7. When you have a history and feel connected to certain people, they remain in your heart forever. It’s like you just saw them yesterday. I *heart* this.

Mostly I left with the reminder that we were lucky to attend PWC. We were so proud to be “Collegians”. It has helped shape who I have become. And I really hadn’t given that much thought before this past weekend. Every step of life is full of learning and leads you on your path. My path has been pretty awesome so far.

Yet another reason to be grateful.

PS: This quote below has nothing to do with this post, except it was painted on the wall at PWC. I love the poem and remember learning it in school. I thought I would share. The full poem is posted below the pic.20130727-063108.jpg

Erosion by E.J. Pratt

It took the sea a thousand years,
A thousand years to trace
The granite features of this cliff,
In crag and scarp and base.

It took the sea an hour one night,
An hour of storm to place
The sculpture of these granite seams
Upon a woman’s face.

2 thoughts on “twenty-five years

  1. Hi Marlayne,
    As a former “Collegianโ€ myself, I had the same feelings about going to my 25th reunion. I was a little nervous about going as well, I really was afraid that I wouldnโ€™t recognize or remember any of my classmates! I think the hard part was physically getting there, once we walked threw the front door the memories, smiling faces and laughter took over. It was really nice to see everyone and to hear about their lives. I thought the girls all looked younger too! It was a wonderful experience, especially the wine and cheese party in the library!

Leave a Reply

