to clear your head

Walking the Signal Hill Trail is one of the highlights of St. John’s. I found myself with some extra time last weekend and realized I needed to take advantage of this beautiful city I now live in.  The Signal Hill Trail is a must see, as far as I’m concerned. This photo below is the view facing East. Just looking at the ocean calms my soul.20130721-045414.jpg

This is the beginning of the trail.  Lots of stairs.

20130721-045427.jpg

See the lighthouse in this picture?  This is Fort Amherst and it is the same lighthouse that is in my Blog Header.  It is also the same place that DH and I got engaged.  Good Memories.

20130721-045437.jpg

Along the trial there were some wild roses growing stubbornly through and around the rocks.  You could smell them as you walked!

20130721-045454.jpg

The walk took me about an hour, but I did keep stopping to take photos.  How can you not with a view like this?

20130721-045506.jpg

This photo below is the only really dodgy part of the trail.  And it looks worse in the photo, I think.

20130721-045517.jpg

I stopped in front of this hole in the rock and it was so interesting!  It must go through to the other side of the cliff toward the open ocean, because as I stood in front of it, I could hear the roar of the sea and there was a cooler breeze coming through the rocks.

20130721-045527.jpg

Signal Hill also overlooks the city and St John’s Harbour. The sun was just starting to set so it wasn’t a great time to get a photo of the city – I’ll have to get up early one morning and get some sunrise photos.

20130721-045541.jpg

These last few flights of stairs on the way back up are fun haha.  There were two nine year old (I’m guessing) boys that flew by me on the stairs as if I was standing still.  I really wanted to bottle their energy!

20130721-045551.jpg

As I was finishing up, the wind was whipping my hair all around and my heart was pumping. A great feeling and an even better reminder why I love St. John’s.

20130721-045559.jpg

Leave a Reply

