that Heather really knows her stuff

Life has been extra busy as you can imagine, trying to fit everything in before we leave Ottawa. Phone calls to schools, eye, teeth and dog grooming appointments, among many other errands, are not always easy to fit in outside of working hours. So last week I took some time off work to check some of these items off my to-do list. Although I had super busy days making the most of my time off, one morning I was able to start the day slowly. It seemed like such a treat to slowly drink my coffee while watching Canada AM.

As luck would have it, Heather from Chapters/Indigo was on and was recommending summer reading. We always buy books for the kids when school is out in June and we had some Chapters gift cards to use, so I was making notes while she was on TV. Over the weekend, we dropped by and picked up two of the books she recommended for the kids.

The first one is The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey. I bought this one for my 14 year old son. According to DS14 “it is about aliens”. That’s about all the details I got on this one.

the 5th wave

The second book is Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell and I bought it for DD13.

eleanor-park-by-rainbow-rowell

Now I can’t personally recommend these books since I haven’t read them. But judging from the noses in the books around here, they are a hit. Heather had said on TV, that Eleanor and Park was about kids in Grade 8 and turns out, the characters are actually 16. So I think it is probably a bit old for DD13 but honestly I am just glad she is enjoying it. Also DD did say that E&P contains foul language, so if that bothers you, best steer clear.

Click HERE if you want to see all the books Heather recommended. My plan is to get Z: A Novel of Zelda Fitzgerald: A Novel of Zelda… for me before too long. Mama needs a book too!

Now back to my list. I have a pointe shoe fitting to schedule, school forms to fill out and closets to pack. But there is always time to fit in a book here and there.

What are you reading these days?

Leave a Reply

