toi, toi, toi!

20130608-091914.jpg
This has been recital week around here, which means every night for the past week DD has had stage rehearsals, dress rehearsals and several shows at the local high school where the studio rents the auditorium. I love the recital in such a different way than I enjoy dance competitions.  The kids are so smiley and relaxed and they truly look as though they are loving the chance to shine on stage.  I also love to watch the recreational kids (those that don’t compete). You can see on their faces that it is such a novelty to be up on stage and they are just beaming with excitement.

This photo below is of the “Actor’s Quick Change Room” which was my post for the Senior show this year. The high school uses this little room to build props, but we manage to squeeze in and set up costumes for the girls to race offstage, quickly change and head back out again.  I LOVE this job, helping with the costume changes.  The girls I was assisting are all in high school or university and wow – they are just so lovely.  So full of life, so wonderful to each other (the comradery back stage is fabulous) and so thankful for the help given to them. It was an absolute pleasure to be around them. Plus I get to see all the behind the scenes entertainment.

20130608-092625.jpg

Watching the recitals always makes me teary. I’m the same for school concerts. I just barely sit down in my seat and I start feeling weepy.  Mostly it is a good weepy.  I’m a little sad this is our last recital with our studio here. But next year I will be able to attend my niece’s recitals and my nephew’s hockey games and THAT is why we are making this change.

In the meantime we are soaking up our last recital here and loving every minute.

Toi, toi, toi!

Leave a Reply

